Horns Movie Tie-in Edition: A Novel (Paperback)

Horns Movie Tie-in Edition: A Novel Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

March 2010 Indie Next List


“When Ignatius Perrish wakes up with horns and discovers that everyone he meets will tell him their darkest desires, he finally begins to piece together the events behind the brutal murder of his girlfriend. But when everyone in town thinks you are the murderer, it's quite possible you don't want to hear what they're really thinking. Joe Hill's new novel is a brilliant mix of horror and mystery.”
— Whitney Spotts, Schuler Books & Music, Lansing, MI

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of Heart-Shaped Box and NOS4A2, a relentless supernatural thriller that runs like Hell on wheels . . .

Merrin Williams is dead, slaughtered under inexplicable circumstances, leaving her beloved boyfriend Ignatius Perrish as the only suspect. On the first anniversary of Merrin's murder, Ig spends the night drunk and doing awful things. When he wakes the next morning he has a thunderous hangover . . . and horns growing from his temples. Ig possesses a terrible new power to go with his terrible new look—a macabre gift he intends to use to find the monster who killed his one true love. Being good and praying for the best got him nowhere. Now it's time for revenge . . .

It's time the devil had his due . . .

Praise For…


“[A] compulsively readable supernatural thriller...Hill spins a story that’s both morbidly amusing and emotionally resonant. The explanations for Ig’s weird travails won’t satisfy every reader, but few will dispute that Hill has negotiated the sophomore slump.”

Horns is a well wrought tale with intellectual merit. Not only are we entertained, we are challenged to think as well.”

“On the strength of two masterly thrillers—2007’s Heart Shaped-Box and his newest Horns—Hill has emerged as one of America’s finest horror writers.”

“HORNS should bring even more fans to Joe Hill . . . he has his own style, and it is very accessible as well as fast-moving. . . . HORNS is a fast-paced, fascinating murder mystery/love story with a dash of the devil himself to spice things up.”

“[Horns is] devilishly good. . . . Hill is a terrific writer with a great imagination. He has a special talent for taking us and his characters to very weird places.”

“Hill’s survey of the question of suffering is a wild ride, as filled with thrills as his hero’s headlong plunge down to a dark and dazzling river.”

“The wise guys point out that the literature of horror fantasy tends to be both romantic and conservative. Normalcy is idealized and so precious that its violation is the essence of horror. Joe Hill’s sweet, fanged demonology takes us there.”

Horns is thoroughly enjoyable and often original.…a richly nuanced story. Fire and brimstone have rarely looked this good. ”

“A devilish, ingeniously designed story that positions Hill in the same realm as Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Lethem, and Stephen King.”

Horns is a pitchfork-packing, prodigal son’s take on religion…But the real meat of the story dissects man’s relationship with good and evil wihtout sacrificing a bit of suspense…Horns is a mesmerizing page-turner.”

“Brilliant in conception...HORNS is a rollercoaster of a work filled with thrills and chills.”

“Hill’s one incredibly talented writer with a wicked sense of humor and a master’s control of pacing.”

“No one working in horror today is more adept than Hill …His writing is both merciless and compassionate, driving hard toward the painful truth in every story while holding fast to the desires of his protagonist. ”

“”Darkly comic in places, touching in others, chilling on occassion…”

“[D]evilishly good…Hill is a terrificwriter with a greatimagination. He has a special talent for taking us and his characters to very weird places.”

“Horns is not only scary but it’s also insightful, often funny and sometimes sweetl romantic.”

“[A] fresh, tough-minded take on what it means to make a deal with the devil and your own worst nature.”

“Fast-paced, well-made, and wonderfully weird.”

“This is masterful allegory as Hill proves himself…to be a compelling chronicler of human natures continual war between good and evil.”

“a tight and well-plotted murder mystery, as well as a thoughtful meditation on good and evil....[HORNS] establishes Hill as one of the most clever and talented writers working in the genre.”

“As the plot builds through flashbacks and clever exposition, Ig’s true nature reveals itself, and the reader is left questioning the traditional border between good and evil....Highly recommended, particularly for fans of Clive Barker and Christopher Moore.”

“A satisfying and entertaining book.”

“[HORNS is] a creepy murder mystery, a tragic love triangle, and a sweetly wistful coming-of-age story. It’s the kind of book that has you laughing on one page, crying on another and making sure the doors and windows are safely locked on a third.”

Horns is dark, twisted, even sometimes funny in a macabre way.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062360021
ISBN-10: 0062360027
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: September 30th, 2014
Pages: 464
Language: English